Category

Adding or Editing Users

Using Greater Giving Online, you can add, remove, or update various options concerning Users in your organization. At this point in time, only Users within the software that are listed as Organizational Admins can add, edit, or delete all users. A normal User can only change their password. From the Organization Home, you can access Manage Users to access all of the editing features for individual Users.

Note: You must be listed as an Organization Admin to Add or Edit Users. To find out more about that role, you can read our Manage User Permissions.

Adding a New User:

  1. From your Organization Home, click Manage Organization from the Main Menu.
    • To get to your Organization Home from your Project, select My Organization from the Main Menu.
  2. Select Manage Users from the Manage Organization drop down.
  3. Click the Add button.
  4. Fill in the following fields:
    AddEditUsers1.jpg
    • Username -  This is what will be used to log into Greater Giving Event software.
      • The bold text in front of the Username field is your Organization short name, and is required on all of your usernames.
    • Email Address - This is the Email Address that the initial password is sent to.
    • Full Name - This is the Name of the user.
  5. Click Save to save your changes, and email the user a temporary password and link into the site. Save and Add New will allow you to add another User.

Once you have added the new User, be sure to check out our Manage User Permissions page to ensure they have all the correct permissions!

Editing an Existing User:

  1. From your Organization Home, click Manage Organization in the Main Menu.
    • To get to your Organization Home from your Project, select My Organization from the Main Menu.
  2. Select Manage Users from the Manage Organization drop down.
  3. Click the Username you wish to edit.
  4. Here you can change the following:
    AddEditUsers2.jpg
    • Username -  This is what will be used to log into Greater Giving Event software.
      • The bold text in front of the Username field is your Organization short name, and is required on all of your usernames.
    • Email Address - This is the Email Address that the initial password is sent to.
      • Note: Changing the Email Address for a User does NOT automatically email them a password update.
    • Full Name - This is the Name of the user.
  5. You can also:
    • Email a Password Reset Link - In case you have changed the Email Address, or wish to reset a current Users password. 
    • Generate a Temporary Password - Generates a one-time use password that is only valid for 1 hour.
  6. Click Save to save your changes, or Save and Edit Next to edit the next User in the list.

Once you have edited the User, be sure to check out our Manage User Permissions page to ensure they have all the correct permissions!


Was this article helpful?
18 out of 24 found this helpful